Reflecting on Thinking

We have been asked to reflect on: “Can you think of any examples of courses you’ve taken in your university study where ICTs have been used to transform (to think differently) your learning experience?”

I have been challenged to think about my identity, pedagogy, and philosophy, though still not sure how to explain this. I have been challenged in the use of ICTs through the construction of tasks using ICT because the learning was new or unfamiliar. All my subjects have been accessed through ICT, portfolio begun, web sites opened, avenues for communication (forums, blackboard collaborate, wiki, facebook) used. I would not know or use most of these technologies without them being an aspect of my degree.

I would not be studying were it not for the availability of ICT and I recognise that learning to use it will be an ongoing affair – a love/hate relationship, well maybe not hate. Transformation has come in the form of access to so much more technology than when I was at school (in the 1970s) and speedy access to information not available before or too time consuming to find. ICTs has opened up possibilities of going where I haven’t been before, and that is scary as well as exciting.

Posted in ICT

Leave a Reply

