Critical Reflection

I have found reflection a difficult act to engage in effectively, not because I don’t want to, but because I find it difficult to stop long enough to see through the process. When I read the article “How to be Critical when reflecting on your teaching” I noted that reflection is not a passive action.

Critical reflection goes beyond mere reflection, which could be simply a review of actions in the light of accepted precepts, in that it requires the reflector to “deconstruct long-held habits of behaviour by looking beyond the behaviour itself to their own self-image and examining why they do what they do”. (Silverman & Casazza 2000: 239).

It requires a commitment to question and challenge the status quo to bring about improvement or excellence, not just for challenges sake.

 

Posted in ICT

Leave a comment